Academic Discourse: Home Healthcare, Hospice and Telehealth
By vaayaa Editorial Team · Subject panel: Dr. Priya Sharma (MD, Internal Medicine), Dr. Sarah Johnson (MD, Public Health)
A home healthcare, hospice or telehealth certification shows that a person met a written standard, usually through an exam, documented experience and continuing education. Its value depends on what the exam covers and how renewal is checked [1][2].
Key takeaways
- Credentials in this sector test specific tasks, such as management, billing, coding, telehealth scheduling and patient communication, not one shared skill set [3][1][4].
- Most programs combine a knowledge test with proof of experience or continuing education [5][2][6].
- Renewal cycles differ, and the published rules set the real workload for keeping a credential [5][6].
- A credential shows that a standard was met at assessment, so it does not replace an employer's own checks [7][8].
- Read the exam outline and renewal rules before choosing a credential, because the title alone rarely shows the scope [9][10].
Certification in home healthcare, hospice and telehealth is a formal way to show that a person met a written standard. The standard might cover agency management, billing and coding, medication safety, patient privacy or how a remote visit is scheduled. A certificate describes the parts of the job that a particular exam and evidence rules were built to check [1][2].
The field is wide. Home care and hospice differ in their rules, and telehealth adds technology, location and privacy duties on top. Coding is treated as its own track in several programs [9][11]. Telehealth work also includes scheduling, billing and appointment reminders, which some standards list as separate duties [3]. A reader should therefore start by reading what each credential covers.
Each figure comes from a cited program or standard page, and the notes say who published it.
What a Credential Tells Employers and Clients
A certification tells others that a person passed an assessment against a defined body of knowledge. It does not prove that the person has worked in every setting. The certification board for home care and hospice says its credentials show a high level of knowledge of standards and recognition of experience [1].
Credentials in this sector also signal how a person handles responsibility. The National Board for Home Care and Hospice Certification says its examinations assess proficiency in management and leadership for the level and auspice indicated [2]. The board uses auspice to mean the type of organization, such as a home care agency or a hospice, in which the credential applies [2].
Fact The certification board's own page says its credentials certify over 1,000 individuals [1]. That figure describes its certified population, not the number of jobs or employers that accept the credential.
Telehealth credentials lean more on professional conduct. One telehealth resource describes the core of professionalism as serving the patient respectfully and upholding the standards of one's profession [8]. A certificate therefore signals conduct as well as technical content, and a reader should check whether the exam tests both.
Knowledge Areas and Skills a Credential Usually Tests
Assessment outlines in this sector list concrete tasks rather than broad topics. One national skills standard for telehealth lists scheduling live video consultations with a consultant physician, sending appointment reminders and updating schedules in records [3]. Another standard covers collecting patient history, recording physical observations and obtaining consent forms [12].
Compliance programs test a different set of skills. One compliance and quality credential covers regulatory excellence and ethical standards, and its exam mixes multiple-choice and scenario-based questions [6]. A coding bundle names four domains of coding competency: coding, regulatory rules, health information documentation and OASIS, the home health assessment data set [4].
Clinical and Safety Content
Standards also test patient rights, confidentiality, identification of abuse or neglect, and infection prevention in the home [13]. Medication reconciliation is a recurring safety area, because the list kept in the home can differ from the clinical record [14]. Assessment duties reach symptoms, health literacy, caregiver stress and home safety [15].
Source: vaayaa analysis of cited data
View chart data
| Theory | 78 marks |
| Practical | 100 marks |
| Project | 40 marks |
| Viva | 60 marks |
How Competence Is Evidenced and Checked Over Time
Evidence of competence usually combines a timed test with records of work or training. Some frameworks score theory, practical, project and viva components separately. One national skills standard for a healthcare support role lists 78 theory marks, 100 practical marks, 40 project marks and 60 viva marks [12].
Other frameworks rely on documented observation. A digital competency vendor describes checklists that a supervisor reviews and signs off after a skill is shown, and it says its platform is trusted by over 200 home health and hospice organizations [16]. Those numbers come from the vendor's own page, so they describe its customers rather than an independent test [16].
Opinion A vendor's statement about its own platform is marketing material. It can show how an agency tracks skills, but it does not show that the skills were assessed by an outside body.
Checking continues after the first pass. Renewal rules ask for proof of continuing education and, in some programs, proof of work in the field [5]. Those rules are the main way a credential stays tied to current practice rather than to one exam day.
| Aspect | National board home care and hospice credentials | Compliance and quality credential (home health or hospice) | Coding bundle for home health (BCHH-C) | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Exam format | Several times a year, in person or computer based [1] | 50 multiple-choice and scenario-based questions, online [6] | 100-question online proctored ICD-10 exam, one attempt [4] | Fact |
| Passing standard | Not stated in the cited text [10] | 80% passing score [6] | Not stated in the cited text [4] | Fact |
| Renewal cycle | Every four years, through continuing education or re-examination [2] | Every two years, with 24 CE hours and a 25-question renewal exam [6] | Access lasts one year from purchase date [4] | Fact |
| Scope | Management and leadership for the level and auspice indicated [2] | Regulatory excellence, ethics and continuous improvement [6] | Coding, regulatory rules, documentation and OASIS [4] | Fact |
| Prerequisites | Education and work experience thresholds, for example more than two years of work experience for one hospice level [2] | No prerequisite listed in the cited text [6] | No prerequisites, but some coding exposure is suggested [4] | Fact |
| Practical use | Agency leadership and administration roles [1] | Compliance and quality roles in agencies [6] | Home health coding roles [4] | Opinion |
Preparing for an Exam: Eligibility, Format and Scheduling
Preparation starts with eligibility, not with study. The certification board asks applicants to qualify on education and work experience before they sit an exam [2]. For one hospice level, the listed requirement is more than two years of work experience, while an advanced level asks for an associate degree or higher [2].
Format details shape the plan. The board offers its exams several times a year, in person or by computer based testing, at locations across the United States [1]. Its handbook includes sections on application deadlines, examination day, cancellation and rescheduling, and it states that late applications move to the next offering [10].
Study the exam blueprint before choosing a date. The handbook contains separate blueprints for home care and for hospice [10]. Another program allows up to two retakes within 90 days, and a third attempt requires supplemental training and documentation [6]. Those rules should shape the date chosen.
Source: vaayaa analysis of cited data
View chart data
| Total points required | 50 points |
| Minimum continuing education | 36 points |
| Maximum other activities | 14 points |
Using the Credential in Hiring, Agency Work and Telehealth
A credential helps only when an employer reads it against the job. Agencies verify credentials directly. One accreditation body has advised home care agencies to verify the credentials of licensed personnel, after federal arrests in a scheme to sell fake nursing diplomas [7]. Formal credential checks also appear in some organizational policies [17].
In telehealth, the credential must match the service rule. Texas rules define telemedicine as care delivered when the client is in a different physical location, by a licensed physician or by a supervised advanced practice nurse or physician assistant [18]. The same rules define telemonitoring as clinical data sent from a client to an agency, which the agency reviews [18].
Titles vary by credential. The certification board lists titles such as Certified Home Care Manager, Certified Hospice Manager and Certified Hospice Administrator [1]. Coding credentials use their own titles, such as home care coding specialist [9]. A hiring manager should match the title to the duties in the job posting.
Common Mistakes, Risks and Limits of a Certificate
The most common mistake is treating a certificate as proof of current skill. Renewal rules exist because knowledge and rules change [5]. Another mistake is buying a study product because its name matches a credential. Coding products and study guides are often sold by separate sellers, so the outline should come first [9][4].
- Assuming a credential covers new tools: legal analysis of AI in home health and hospice names bias, documentation and patient disclosure as active risks [19][20].
- Skipping verification of education and training records before hiring [7][17].
- Overlooking confidentiality and consent duties in remote care [12][21].
- Assuming contact hours are fixed: the provider notes that hours can change and must be checked with the agency or accrediting body [22].
Opinion In this editor's view, a certificate is strongest when an employer also checks records and observed practice. A credential alone is a weak signal for a high-risk home visit.
Ethical limits also apply. Remote palliative care raises concerns about autonomy, beneficence, nonmaleficence and justice, which are four principles from biomedical ethics [23]. A certificate does not settle these questions for a particular patient or household.
Source: vaayaa analysis of cited data
View chart data
| Compliance credential, per year | 12 hours |
| Board credential minimum, per year | 9 hours |
| Compliance credential, full cycle | 24 hours |
| Board credential, full cycle | 36 hours |
Linking Certification to Practical Experience and Ongoing Learning
Certification works best beside documented experience. One certification board requires at least 12 months of management or leadership experience within the last 48 months for renewal by that route [5]. Work history therefore counts as much as the exam score for some credentials.
Continuing education is the other half of renewal. The same board requires 50 points in total, with at least 36 points from continuing education and at most 14 points from other activities such as association roles or teaching [5]. One contact hour of 50 minutes equals one point, and course content must relate to the credential [5].
Ongoing learning keeps a credential meaningful. A compliance program requires 24 hours of continuing education every two years, or attendance at an annual conference, plus a 25-question open-book renewal exam [6]. The learner should match each hour to the credential scope, so the record shows relevant growth.
Original analysis
vaayaa Analysis: Continuing Education Burden and Exam Thresholds
- Take the compliance credential renewal rule of 24 CE hours every two years [6], then divide 24 by 2 to get 12 hours per year.
- Take the board credential minimum of 36 continuing education hours in a four-year cycle [5], then divide 36 by 4 to get 9 hours per year.
- Compare the two per-year figures. Assumption: each program's stated minimum is the only requirement counted, and no extra points are added.
- Apply the initial exam threshold: 80% of 50 questions is 40 correct answers [6].
- Apply the renewal threshold: 85% of 25 questions is 21.25, so 22 correct answers are needed if the result is rounded up. Assumption: partial answers are rounded up.
On the stated minimums, the compliance credential asks for 12 CE hours per year against 9 for the board credential, which is 3 more. The compliance exam needs 40 of 50 correct at first attempt, and 22 of 25 at renewal. This is an estimate built only from the cited rules.
Certification Pathway From Scope Check to Renewal
- 1
Confirm scope
Read the exam outline or domain list and match it to the duties of the target role [10][4].
- 2
Check eligibility
Compare your education and work experience with the stated thresholds before you apply [2].
- 3
Gather evidence
Collect work records and training documents that show the tasks named in the standard [12][5].
- 4
Sit the exam
Choose the format and date that fit the published deadline and retake rules [10][6].
- 5
Track renewal
Log continuing education points against the cycle and confirm that each activity relates to the credential [5][6].
Worked example
Planning an Attempt at a 50-Question Compliance Exam
- Identify the exam: 50 multiple-choice and scenario-based questions, a 90-minute limit and an 80% passing score [6].
- Convert the passing score: 80% of 50 questions is 40 correct answers.
- Calculate the allowance: 50 minus 40 leaves 10 questions that can be missed.
- Calculate the time per question: 90 minutes divided by 50 questions is 1.8 minutes per question.
- Note the retake rule: up to 2 retakes within 90 days, with a third attempt requiring supplemental training and documentation [6].
A candidate can miss no more than 10 questions and has about 1.8 minutes per question. The cited text does not report pass rates, so these figures show the rules, not the likely outcome.
Certification Readiness Checklist
- Read the exam outline and list the tasks it names before choosing a credential [10][4].
- Confirm eligibility, including education and work experience thresholds [2].
- Note the passing standard, time limit and retake policy in your calendar [6].
- Gather records of work and training that match the standard's tasks [12].
- Check whether the credential covers the setting you work in, such as telehealth or in-home care [17][18].
- Record renewal points by cycle and confirm each activity relates to the credential [5].
- Ask your employer which credential checks it uses in hiring and supervision [7].
Frequently asked questions
Does a certificate prove I can do the job?
A certificate shows that you met a written standard at the time of assessment. It does not prove that you perform well every day. Employers usually add their own checks, such as reviewing records, observing practice and verifying the credential itself [7][24].
Which credential should I choose?
Start with the duties of the role you want. Compare the exam outline, eligibility rules and renewal cycle of each option. A coding credential, a management credential and a compliance credential test very different skills [1][4][6].
How long does a certification last?
It depends on the program. One board renews every four years [2], while a compliance credential renews every two years [6]. Read the renewal rules before you apply, because they set the ongoing workload.
Will every employer accept a given certificate?
No certificate is accepted automatically by every employer. Check the job posting and the agency policy. Some organizations verify credentials directly, so the record must be real and current [7][17].
Do I need work experience before I certify?
Some programs do. One hospice level lists more than two years of work experience as a requirement [2]. Other programs state no prerequisite in the cited text [6]. Check the eligibility section of each handbook before you pay for an exam.
How is continuing education different from certification?
Certification is the assessed credential. Continuing education is the record of learning that keeps it active. Renewal rules often require a set number of hours that relate to the credential's scope, and some also count other activities [5].
Conclusion
Certification in home healthcare, hospice and telehealth is useful when it is read closely. The exam outline, the evidence rules and the renewal cycle show what a credential actually covers. Employers who verify records and observe practice get the most from it [7][5].
The strongest approach is to match a credential to a real role, check eligibility before you apply, and keep renewal records current. A certificate opens a conversation about skill, but it does not finish that conversation [8][6].
This discourse describes education and careers in healthcare. It is general information, not medical advice.
Learning sources
References
- oahc.org. The Nbhhc Certification Examinations.
- onetonline.org. Certification: Certified Hospice Administrator (CHA).
- healthcare-ssc.in. Document published on healthcare-ssc.in.
- store.wellsky.com. Credentialing :: BCHH-C Certification Bundle.
- netforumpro.com. Renewing Your Certification.
- achcu.com. Compliance and Quality Certification in Home Health and Hospice - ACHCU.
- achc.org. Document published on achc.org.
- telehealth.org. Telehealth Best Practices & Ethics.
- postacuteacademy.com. Document published on postacuteacademy.com.
- cahsah.org. Nbhhccandidatehandbook.
- schcha.org. Level 1: Essential Concepts in Home Health & Hospice SC.
- healthcare-ssc.in. Telehealth Services Coordinator Submitted.
- ahhcnc.org. Self Reflection Tool Hospice.
- chapinc.org. The Hidden Risks in Every Home Why Clinical Managers Are the Safety Net.
- pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov. Table 2. - Table 2..
- medbridge.com. Document published on medbridge.com.
- empassion.com. Credentialing and Recredentialing.
- sos.texas.gov. Document published on sos.texas.gov.
- agg.com. Navigating the AI Frontier: Legal Guardrails for Home Health and Hospice Providers in and Beyond.
- jdsupra.com. Navigating the AI Frontier: Legal Guardrails for Home Health and Hospice Providers in and Beyond - Key Takeaways.
- skillmissionbihar.org. Document published on skillmissionbihar.org.
- store.wellsky.com. Wlc Courses Flyer Full Catalog.
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov. Document published on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov.
- pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov. Table 2. - Table 2..